The Song of Soldiers

Much have I seen and heard and told,
Of tales, songs, and of kingdoms gold.
Against the lords and raging hordes,
I’ve seen their coming onto cold.

Too many boys died on lands and sea,
The sailors fight and ‘brave’ men flee.
But crashing they fall, those knights tall,
Who swore their words in fealty.

‘Forwards!’ they cried, good men lie dead.
‘To war, to war!’ a battle-cry spread.
Then wines were poured, then blades adored,
Now to our graves graciously tread.

The heart of my life has gone high,
O I do wish how I may fly.
O’er the snows to winter’s close
And up t’ee, heaven, ere here I die.

Leave a Reply

